1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Turf striping

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by southside, Feb 11, 2000.

1. southside

southside LawnSite Senior Member

I am fairly new to commercial mowing(6 mnths)<br>prior to which I concentrated more on<br>slashing and land clearing.I have a Kubota<br>T1760 ride on (John Deere LX188 would be<br>equivalent in the States).My question is,<br>how do you get that stripe finish on a lawn?<br>Can't figure it out.Hope this isnt too<br>dumb a question.Never had to worry about this<br>on a tractor and slasher.Any info would<br>be appreciated.<p>Karl
  2. Eric ELM

Eric ELM Husband, Father, Friend, Angel

Karl, I wrote a small article and have 2 picture links to show me mowing a lawn and putting in stripes. I have been asked this question so many times I decided to put this on my site. I think this will answer your question. I hope it helps. If not, let me know.<p>----------<br>&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.townserver.com/elm/&quot;&gt;Eric@ELM&lt;/a&gt;<br>
  3. MWHC

MWHC LawnSite Member
    from Wyoming

Eric has a real nice page and a good description of how to stripe lawns. Some mowers do this better than others. The striping is caused by the grass laying in one direction. I have seen striping kits available for some larger deck sizes, usually 44&quot; and greater. The ones I have seen are a thin piece of rubber mounted on the backside of the deck. This helps lay the grass in the direction you are mowing.
  4. jakev

jakev Guest

Striping is nice but I really think that 90% of customers... residential or commercial could care less. All they care about is that its done on Thursday or whatever day you told them you would be there.<p>I also don't think coustomers care if you use a new shiny ZTR or a old beatup t-bar toro. As long as it gets done.