Turf Tracer troubles... HELP!

Discussion in 'Mechanic and Repair' started by PJDiesel, Apr 23, 2006.

1. PJDiesel

PJDiesel LawnSite Member

Hey, newbie here with a couple of questions for you guys who are in the "know".

I recently bought a used (2004) ExMark Turf Tracer 60. (Kohler Command 20) I got it to replace an older 72 Scag walk behind I sold to the folks who bought my house. Heres the deal, this mower runs great sitting still. It will idle and rev up just fine, put a load on it (up hill, thick grass, quick manuever, etc.) and she dogs out. It smokes and sputters till I throttle it down. I can cut at about 3 or 4 (speed wise) and about 5/8 throttle, any higher than that or through normal height grass and it trys to die on me.

??
    Heres what I have already done to it that has has ZERO effect on how it runs so far.
    1) New fuel and fuel filter.
    2) Changed oil, oil filter, trans filter trans fluid.
    3) New plugs (which are now badly carbon foulded for some reason?)
    4) New float, needle valve, air/fuel screw & gaskets.
    5) had the carb apart a total of three times, sprayed it out with carb cleaner & compressed air.
    Aitr filter looks fine, it runs the same with it off.

PLEASE HELP!
    I'm one step away from taking this thing to an ExMark dealer. It's starting to hurt my pride now.:cry:

Any suggestions would be great, I'm lsot at this point.

2. riches139

riches139 LawnSite Senior Member

Choke not opening up all the way?

3. PJDiesel

PJDiesel LawnSite Member

It would seem that way, but no.

4. lucforce

lucforce LawnSite Member

Sounds like the ignition is breaking up. Did you gap the sparkplugs? What plugs did you put in it?

You may have a coil problem.

5. PJDiesel

PJDiesel LawnSite Member

Gap? huh. I just slapped them in there ;)

They are RC12YC, is that what it is supposed to have?
    It's not like it's not just running at optimal performace, it's running like crap. Making me wish I had my old Scag back at this point.