Turning with a snapper belt drive WB

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Diddy, Oct 27, 2011.

1. Diddy

Diddy LawnSite Member

hey guys i was wondering what the best way is to turn with a belt driven snapper walk behind. do i just squeeze the brake hard and turn or do a 3 point turn. and is using a sulkey on a walk behind that bad to do? thanks i appreciate it

2. cvcook

cvcook LawnSite Member

Have you not driven one before? make a wide turn, locking up the inside tire will cause turf damage due to the tire scrubbing. yes a sulky is the way to go.....much faster!

3. Patriot Services

Patriot Services LawnSite Fanatic

You have race track or make loops. Belt drives were not meant to be ZTR's. If you pivot you will tear turf. Going forward as much as possible is most efficient. I'm guessing your new to larger mowers?
    Posted via Mobile Device

4. Diddy

Diddy LawnSite Member

yes im new to the larger mower. i mainly use 21 and i have used a kubota ztr but i am new to the walk behind world

5. Patriot Services

You'll figure out quick that reverse is useless too. As well as when the belts get wet. Belt dressing helps somewhat but it still sucks in rain or heavy dew.
    Posted via Mobile Device

6. douglee25

douglee25 LawnSite Senior Member
    from PA