turning without leaving corkscrews (tearing the grass)

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by danmc, May 2, 2004.

1. danmc

danmc LawnSite Member

Hi,
    I'm fairly new at using commercial equipment and would like some pointers. At work I mostly use an exmark Turf Tracer HP, 52" 17hp Kaw. I am finally able to so straight lines (it has a velkie) but am still having problems turning at the end of my row to start a new one. If I try to turn completely on a dime then I tear the grass, If I make wider turns then the grass doesn't tear but I am leaving uncut patches. I find myself making half a turn, backing up and completing my turn which is highly inefficient. Any pointers?

Thanks!

2. barringtonbrothers

barringtonbrothers LawnSite Senior Member

Thats the same way I do it, you can never pivot steer because all your gonna do is rip up the grass. I posted a question like this about a week a go and I got the same answer. I mow back and forth then make a pass at each end to get all the stuff i miss turning. Some guys said lower my tire pressure but I dont think it will make a big difference.

3. Craftybigdog

Craftybigdog LawnSite Senior Member

The best thing to do is cut in the yard do two swipes around the perimeter of the yard and then come in and stripe so what you want to do is do a wide turn at the end and then come back for the next stripe. Just know that you cant stop the wheels from turning so if your pushing one lever forward then pull one backslowly!

4. kc2006

kc2006 LawnSite Silver Member

I've found using an exmark lazer that if i jockey the steering so when i'm turning I have the pivoting tire go in reverse it doesn't rip it up.

5. cklands

cklands LawnSite Senior Member
    from MA

kc2006 said it. Make the pivoting tire go in reverse.

6. Acute Cut

Acute Cut LawnSite Senior Member