two part Dethatching question

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by jt5019, Jun 18, 2004.

1. jt5019

jt5019 LawnSite Bronze Member

I got a call the other day a customer wants his lawn dethatched.My question is,is it to late in the season to dethatch? It is getting pretty hot here with the past week ranging from 85 to 95 degrees.The lawn looks very healthy but he says it hasnt been done in years and wants it..

My other question is... today i just get a call from his neighbor wondering if he gets his lawn done too can they get a group deal?I already quoted the first house.Would you give a deal? If you would about much would you take off? I already worry i may have underbid the first house a little as i took over my fathers business and this is my first time quoting a job like this.

2. Envy Lawn Service

Envy Lawn Service LawnSite Fanatic

Are we talking real dethatching by a power rake fitted with a delta knife reel, or are we talking spring tine dethatcher raking?

If we are talking real dethatching, have you pulled a core sample to see if it's needed? If needed, have you considered educating him on managing thatch by regular scheduled core aeration?

3. jt5019

Would be using a brand new power rake im borrowing from another company that gives me some of their overflow jobs.This job is not a full time customer just someone that called and said "hey can you give me a quote for dethatching" I said ok give me a day or two to get out there and look at it he said ok.I stopped by but the man wasnt home to talk to, but his lawn did look to be healty and rather green except where the sun is starting to dry it out.

4. kootoomootoo

kootoomootoo LawnSite Platinum Member

5. GeeVee

GeeVee LawnSite Senior Member

I do not know of your type of turf.

I do know that there would be reasons for de thatching. You need to know if it is indicated, or if it would just be snake oil you were selling.