Ultimate SuperPlow

Discussion in '<a href=http://www.plowsite.com target=_blank ?>Sn' started by ProSeasons, Jan 8, 2001.

1. ProSeasons

ProSeasons LawnSite Member

The technical information on this site is unsurpassed.I love to read about all the different opinions on equipment.Say I was an engineer with a free hand and an empty drawing board tasked with designing an entirely new snowplow any way I wanted,I want this thing to be the be-all to end-all of snow removal concepts.We are the design team.How would we go about it?(just for grins!)

2. SlimJim Z71

SlimJim Z71 LawnSite Senior Member

1. Heavy duty hydraulic lines

2. V-plow (obviously)

3. Boss SmartHitch type mount

4. High speed pump

5. Down pressure

6. Western-style joystick

7. Trip edge (with urethane edges)

... I'd be happy with that.

-Tim

3. GeoffDiamond

GeoffDiamond LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Maine

Only one thing I would like to see.

Fisher builds an 8.5' V-plow, the build a 9.5' v-plow very heavy duty, designed off the 9' MC series.

Can Fisher just make a regular old 9' v-plow and add 3" little inches to each side of the 8.5' V-plow? Is it really just too much to ask.

Now I think this is up most importance. Only because my Fords have a wide turning radius, and all my F 350 C&C have 9' straight blades. The 8.5' V-plow wouldn't work well when plowing in areas that have a lot of curves. I know any 1 ton would handle a 9' V-plow as long as it was built off the 8.5' platform. So why can't they build me a 9' V-plow?

Geoff

4. Kent Lawns

Kent Lawns LawnSite Senior Member
    from Midwest

I think we're just on the cusp of some radical new advances in snowplows.

Look for some "far-out" fold out designs.
    Look for extensive use of polymers were practical.
    Look for "tricked-out" hydraulic systems.

I know already of some equipment guys are using that'll become commonplace in 5 years that will radically improve productivity.