Um, yeah, can anyone tell me why diesel is $1.00 more than gas?

Discussion in 'Trucks and Trailers' started by jtkplc, Oct 28, 2005.

1. jtkplc

jtkplc LawnSite Silver Member

Here in michigan, Diesel is ~$3.39 and gas is about ~$2.39, why is diesel so much more righ now? Shouldn't diesel be about $0.20 less than gas?

2. mark_the_psycho

mark_the_psycho LawnSite Member

1. it's probably the winter mix with all sorts of crap to keep it from freezing

2. life's a bi+c#

3. newz7151

newz7151 LawnSite Silver Member
    from Tejas

It's the same reason Hydrogen is going to be so expensive when everybody runs out and starts buying Hydrogen fueled vehicles. If everybody and their momma would lay off on buying the diesel trucks, the demand would stop rising so fast.

4. Thirsty

Thirsty LawnSite Member

I haul Diesel and gas for a living and I have also asked people in the business this question.

The answer I get is 3rd world countries such as China ..economies are growing in the double digits every year and they are buying alot of diesel.

I know a few people who bought diesel cars the last few years for economy....sure glad I didn't listen to them.

The price of gas has gone down because the refineries at the Gulf are back online cracking gas again.

With winter approaching I wouldn't look for Diesel to come down soon or ever....hopefully I am wrong.

5. Gravel Rat

Gravel Rat LawnSite Fanatic

The oil companies know the world runs on diesel fuel so they have everybody by the b**** we have to buy it like the price or not. If the transportation industry stopped because they didn't like the price of fuel the whole of North America would come to a grinding halt.