1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

under brush clearing where to start

Discussion in 'Landscape Maintenance' started by johnyredd99, Apr 15, 2011.

1. johnyredd99

johnyredd99 LawnSite Member
    from gap,pa

I have a customer that wants the underbrush in her woods cleared out. I started to clear out the lighter growth and the down branches but then made it to this really thick stuff. I am just not sure what to use or how to go about getting this done.. I was thinking maybe a bush hog but not sure. My other thought were using the bucket on kubota to try and back drag to break it up. I am just not sure... Normally I would turn down the job but I have been doing the part time thing for 8 years and decided this would be the year to go full time. so i can not walk away from the money. Thanks for any advice

hibernia rd 003.jpg

hibernia rd 004.jpg
  2. White Gardens

White Gardens LawnSite Fanatic

I would do two things.

Use a long, articulating, extended reach hedge trimmer to cut anything up to 2 inches.

Then I would use a 12-14 inch light arborist saw to cut down the rest.

At that point you could use your tractor to clean up the mess when your done.
  3. Oakleaf landscape

Oakleaf landscape LawnSite Senior Member

IDK what kid of weed eater you have but most of them allow you to put a blade on the head. Will go through anything pretty much... That's what I would use for the brush, then a chain saw for anything over 3 in.
    Here's a few ideas.
  4. bmac1996acc

bmac1996acc LawnSite Member
    from in GA

5. Smallaxe

Smallaxe LawnSite Fanatic

Chainsaws for this kind of thing usually means a lot of bending over, and chains jumping off every 2 minute... A circular brush blade attachment on a basic engine unit, will give you a nice length and enough power to take it all down.