Uniform question

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Edgewater, Nov 20, 2004.

1. Edgewater

Edgewater LawnSite Senior Member

Here I go,

How do all of you who have company uniforms handle them

1) Do you give them out or do employees buy?

2) How many shirts,hats, pants etc per employee?

3) How do you enforce replacing older worn out clothes?

4) When employees no longer work for you, how do you insure that they are not wearing old t-shirts and hats. ie employee wears t-shirt or hat to the bar and gets in some kind of stupid trouble. Do they have to hand them in when they quit or are fired?

Any help on these would be much appreciated.

2. out4now

out4now LawnSite Bronze Member
    from AZ

When I was a mechanic our uniforms were leased through a service and if any were damaged in a preventable way we got docked relacemnet fee. Owner would hold your last check until you returned the property alhtough I don't think it was totally legal. A security deposit probably would have been though. Good question.
  3. tiedeman

tiedeman LawnSite Fanatic
    from earth

When I had employees they got 3 shirts, and 2 hats. They were required to buy their own pants though. The shirts and hats were to be returned if terminated, if they were not returned they were deducted from their paycheck (signed by them in the handbook). Also if they really needed new uniforms they were replaced with them. Usually employees only went through 3-5 uniforms a year
  4. paponte

paponte LawnSite Silver Member

We lease our uniforms also. 13 pants, shirts, and 2 jackets per guy. anything gets damaged we get a replacement. We pay for the startup fee per person, and also half of the weekly service charge. I think it's about $7.00 that comes out of their check every week. For that money they never have to buy another piece of work clothing & get their wash done every week... guaranteed. :)
  5. Edgewater

thanks for the help, I was thinking along those lines,

any other input is welcome