Unrealistic expectations? Mowing at 4.5"+

Discussion in 'Homeowner Assistance Forum' started by tractorsnowman000, Jul 27, 2008.

1. tractorsnowman000

tractorsnowman000 LawnSite Member

Hello all,
    I am new to Lawnsite, but have been reading and searching for the past few weeks. I appreciate all I have learned.

I am only maintaining my own property. I have mixed mowing needs, an acre or 2 around the house that is pretty standard fare, decent lawn, smooth, can be mowed quickly at 3". Problem is that I have a lot of other areas to mow (say 8+ acres) that are rough, and I want to be able to mow high with a decent (not homeowner, development type quality). Need to mow high cause it is rough as I have been reclaiming land and forests. Also have some steep hills, so traction is important. I have been mowing with my Bob-cat Z219 (no suspension, 19hp kawi).

I have a Kubota ZD331 60" here now that I am demoing and I like the machine. Nice ride compared to what I am used to, tons of power and torque etc, problem is I am not in love with the cut on my mixed field grass etc at higher mowing heights. very happy with the 3" cut but take it up to 4.5" and get it on mixed grasses (clover, alfalfa, timothy, rye, fescue etc) I get two streams where it appears to have blown more than cut. Probably not enough suction at higher heights.

I care about 1) smoothness of ride (Kubota seems pretty good compared to what I am used to), 2) traction and stability on hills (Kubota might have a bit high COG) and 3) decent cut at high levels.

So my question to all the experts (and I mean that seriously) - is it possible to move quickly and mow at 4.5"+ and get a uniform cut?