Untrimmed trees

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by rustyb265, Jul 26, 2006.

1. rustyb265

rustyb265 LawnSite Member

I just have a question for all the professionals out there. THis is my first year in the business and I only do it part time. (About 10 lawns) I have a separate full time job. I cut the lawn at a house that is right on the water. THe whole back yard it full of trees, (oakes, maples, pines) and they have not been trimmed in what looks like 50 years. All of the lower branches are hanging on the ground. I am just currious how you guys handle this. At first I took the time to make sure I got the mower under all of them, but I am now getting tired of getting scratches and cuts on my arms and also potentially damaging my equipment. SO the last two cuts I have just gone around them. THe owner is rarely around and I have actually never talked to him. I just send him a bill and he pays it. I am just currious how you guys handle this with branches hanging withing 3 feet of the ground. I think I will just continue to go around them and if he complains tell him he needs ot have them trimmed before I will cut under them. THanks for any advice.

2. Brendan Smith

Brendan Smith LawnSite Bronze Member

how large are they and how much of a pita is disposal? if they are lopper size and it'll only take a few minutes and disposal isn't a problem, just do it. you have the perfect customer there (never around and pays on time). if it's too much, if you're capable of doing it, give him an estimate and the reasons for doing it (maybe throw in some bs to make it beneficial for him too).

3. Mrk'sLawn

Mrk'sLawn LawnSite Member

Take em down and get them out of the way. It will look better and make it easier to mow the property in the future. Usually, if I run into that, I'll just recommend to the owner that they should be removed and they almost always agree...

4. dcondon

dcondon LawnSite Silver Member