Used Lazer Z (22hp Kohler) - questions

Discussion in 'eXmark' started by landcruiser, May 14, 2003.

1. landcruiser

landcruiser LawnSite Member
    from Tx

I am looking at a Lazer Z w/22hp Kohler. Model # LZ22KC532 Serial #165281 , Kohler eng# CH22S. This mower has 740 hours but was used by a city. All of the bearings are out in the blade spindles. My question is, what is a reasonable price for this mower given that I am going to have to repair all the bearings in the spindles? I have never owned an Exmark but I am a very competent mechanic and will fix the problems myself. About what will parts cost? I ran the mower and it runs well. Last "zero turn" mower I had was an old Grasshopper 1844D and ths hydro system on these was a NIGHTMARE - are these Exmark hydro systems reliable? Is this 22hp Kohler engine a good engine without particular widespread known problems? Thanks for any help.

2. eXmark

eXmark Manufacturer / Sponsor

Landcruiser,

Thanks for the post. At 740 hours it should have a good deal of life left in it. The engine will be the weakest link so you'll want to check it over very carefully.

The cutter housing assembly with bearings, spacers and retaining rings will run around $85-$90 a piece. Cutter housing assembly with spindle, pulley etc. they'll run closer to $135-$145 each. I'd look at the pulleys real close. That unit probably had cast iron pulleys on the top of the deck and if youÂ’re in an area with much sand you could see some significant wear. Just make sure the belt doesn't run all the way to the bottom of the "V" in the pulley. Once the pulley wears enough for the belt to bottom out it needs replaced.