Using the 521 Tracker/Locater

Discussion in 'Irrigation' started by TennTexan, Apr 3, 2004.

1. TennTexan

TennTexan LawnSite Member

I have been using this tool from Progressive Electronics for many years. It took awhile to learn how to use it correctly, but I am pretty good at it now. This thread is for anyone who is new to it or is having a specific problem tracking or locating with it. I will offer any tips I can from my many hours of experience.

2. Harry0

Harry0 LawnSite Member
    from NJ

Tenn: I just received mine from Ebay-It seems to be working but it came with no manual. Do I need one? Last year I had to hire someone for $125 to find a zone valve. So when I saw it for $250 I bought it. I will test it in my yard to get a feel for it. Any pointers will be grerat thanks- Harry

3. TennTexan

TennTexan LawnSite Member

First of all, if you got a good working 521 locator for $250, you got a good deal!
    A manual would be good, but it's only a few pages. If you want one, you could probably contact Progressive Electronics and get one for no charge.