1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Very bummed out please read.

Discussion in 'General Industry Discussions' started by K c m, Jul 21, 2005.

1. K c m

K c m LawnSite Senior Member

Ok guys here is my situation Im a college student and am paying my tuition through my small operation. Im a one man show with about 70 regular lawns (give or take a few) I start night class on monday through thursday 5-930 every day. this is ok because im close to getting my degree however in the last two weeks we have gotten spurts of rain that has caused the grass to grow very fast. I have now been behind for 2 weeks and dont see how i can catch up. Ive called all the customers and alerted them but im still geting calls in the mornings to come cut and stuff like that. I don't know what to do and i dont want to dump any of them or them fireing me.

i have never experienced this sort of thing in my days mowing. I really feel bad i can't catch up.

any advice or other stories would be cool.
  2. PTP

PTP LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Tulsa

Get a helper and get the lawns done. If you don't know anyone who can help, you might try a temp agency. It will cost you but it is better than loosing customers.
  3. Bulletproof

Bulletproof LawnSite Member

Hey buddy,

I've been in a similar situation. I just finished my third or 4 years at university working towards my business degree. The first 3 years of university I drove home (2 hours each way) from thursday morning till monday morning and pulled long hours to stay on top of my lawns. This was the most stressful thing in the world for me trying to keep on top of this. This year I'm taking the fall semester off and finishing my last year of school by way of 2 winter semesters.