vibratory plow or trencher

Discussion in 'Irrigation' started by advancedlawnsolutions, Feb 2, 2005.

1. advancedlawnsolutions

advancedlawnsolutions LawnSite Member

I've been doing installs for about 2-1/2 yrs now and only about 12 jobs. I've always used a trencher. I have found that I spend a lot of time covering ditches and the yard looks like it went through surgery. What about the vaibratory plow? How can I get 5-6 runs of 1" sch20 pvc in one ditch with a plow? What do some of you more experienced guys find more user friendly and time saving?

2. mickeyg

mickeyg LawnSite Member

My experience using a vibratory plow results in less work, faster installs, cleaner installation( no glueing) and the yard doesn't look like a war zone.
    We used to do the trenching, but now we do the subsurface and polypipe installations. Trenching took to long, depending on soil condition and depth, lots of cross over trenches, then we had to go back and clean the trench, cut pvc pipe, glue,set and bury pipe by hand. We also came back a week later to fill the trench due to settling. With the plow and poly pipe all you do is plow your lines, dig holes where your going to tee into, connect and bury the small area hole. We also liked it because since we used poly throughout the system, the sprinklers could be moved/adjusted rather than fixed with PVC. With poly pipe we also used the "press fit couplings" no glueing. You can also run cable,telephone and low voltage wiring. And how much was all this equipment??? about 19K :dizzy:

3. Rainmaker

Rainmaker LawnSite Member