Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by lsylvain, Jan 24, 2002.

1. lsylvain

lsylvain LawnSite Senior Member

has anyone done work for wal-mart before? I've been trying to get my foot in the door at my local wal-mart but all I get is run around. Store manager tells me to talk with corporate corporate tells me to talk to the store manager and so on. If anyone can tell me the best way to get to the person I need to talk to that would be great.

This is really driveing me crazy. The company that did it last year did such a bad job I know the contract is mine if I can just get to the person who I need to talk to.

thanks for all the help everyone
  2. mdb landscaping

mdb landscaping LawnSite Silver Member

do a search on wal mart. i recall a fairly lengthy post on people who have done or are doing work for wal mart.
  3. lbmd1

lbmd1 LawnSite Senior Member

I used to be a Sams Club manager (owned by Wal-Mart)about 10 years ago. I can tell you for sure that the store manager is the one giving you the runaround. They are responsible for all grounds maintenance issues including snowplowing. He then usually has to get approval from his Regional Director of Operations after receiving multiple bids. Once he has chosen his vendor\supplier\LCO, you might be lucky enough to get paperwork to fill out to get an account number as a vendor for the home office to pay you. Be expected to wait long periods for payment. They didn't get where they are by paying on a timely basis. If you aren't lucky enough to get direct billing to the home office and you must submit your bill to the local store, be willing to wait even longer. They can "batch" you invoice the next month if they are coming close to a bonus month or home office wants cuts this month for profitability statements to shareholders. Either way, all I can advise you is, don't bother! I have a friend who does heavy snowplowing for lots the size of Wal Marts. He does the local Sams here and I swear he'll have a heart attack one o