Walk behind aerator opinions?

Discussion in 'Turf Renovation' started by jay12, Nov 18, 2010.

1. jay12

jay12 LawnSite Senior Member
    from KY

I am considering buying a walk behind aerator to start doing some aerations in the spring and next fall. I will buy used to avoid spending a lot of money. I have never done any aerations before and Im looking to get into it to make alittle extra money each year, especially with no more input cost than there is in a used aerator. I would like any opinions on this idea. Will it make money? Good idea? bad idea? any help would be appreciated? most yards that would be aerated are probably 20000 sq ft. some are more some are less. Any advice is welcome, thanks

2. weeble67

weeble67 LawnSite Senior Member

I have a Ryan that I use. I aerate in the spring and in the fall. I offer over seeding when I aerate. I have noticed a huge difference in my customers lawns. The thatch is reduced greatly and when combined with over seeding the lawns get so much thicker. As for money maker? The profits are huge. Your overhead is low, and maintenance isn't that much. I have several customer that aerating is all that I do. Next year I'm going to spend some money promoting aerating and try to expand it.

3. jay12

from KY

Thanks, I considered the same approach, maybe advertise aeration with seeding or aeration with a fertilize, or aeration only for x dollars or a discount if they signed up for late march service or something along those lines? I am still in consideration about it, but I believe it would be good for extra income and maybe an opportunity to grab some extra customers.

4. aeration

aeration LawnSite Member
    from Indiana

Rent an aerator until you can cash flow for a new one. When you have enough, purchase a Lawn Solutions walk behind. You won't regret it. You will understand what I mean after using a rental machine. It will most likely be a Ryan, Blue Bird, or maybe a Billy Goat. They are beaters, IMO.

5. jay12

from KY