Walk Behind vs Small ZTR?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by MOturkey, Sep 30, 2007.

1. MOturkey

MOturkey LawnSite Silver Member

I'm asking advice from those of you who use, or have used, WB's in their business.

Here is my situation. I'm a solo operator, working this business part-time in addition to my regular job, hoping to retire from route sales in 1 to 2 years, and mow more or less full time, to supplement retirement income (translation: Pay for the @X### health insurance!), probably in the 30-40 hours a week range, as long as I'm physically able.

I use a Gravely 260Z and a 21 inch Honda homeowner's model, which, until recently, was used one only one small area a week, which takes about 8 minutes. I have, however, picked up one new account with a gated back yard, and have mowed another which I will likely have next year, so the 21 is seeing some use now.

My wife has taken to helping me some this year, running the ZTR, or mowing with the 21 in the back yard while I do the front on the gated places. If we can overcome some issues such as turns and straight stripes, :) , then she will probably continue to help me in the future.

Right now, our usual system is to arrive at a property, I jump on the Z and do the more difficult areas, such as ditches, and run a trim strip around any structures and the perimeter of the property, since she doesn't feel comfortable doing slopes (and I'm kind of glad), and doesn't like mowing in tight areas, although she is getting better at that.

Then, I dismount, turning the Z over to her. We have several larger properties, up to 2 1/2 acres, with varying amounts of trimming from almost none to the one I did by myself yesterday, bordering on the PITA range. I'm much faster with the trimming, plus she has had knee replacements, and can't handle walking in ditches and such very well.