walk vs rider

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by rjmj, May 2, 2002.

1. rjmj

rjmj LawnSite Member
    from mn

this is my first time here
    i do about 10 lawns on the side of my full time job. i am debating whether to get a walk behind or a rider. 2 of the lawns are pretty big and the rest are small-med. i only have about 2500 to spend so if i go with a rider i was thinking about the jd sabre i havnt really looked at wide cut walk behinds. right now i am using a old rider for the larger lawns and a 21" push for the smaller ones.
    please leave any feedback

2. 65hoss

65hoss LawnSite Fanatic

Commerical grade walkbehind would be your best bet. Nothing cuts as nice as a commerical mower. You get the professional appearance better.

Whats that good brand?

humm....

Oh yea, eXmark

3. AK Lawn

AK Lawn LawnSite Member

for that kind of money you can get yourself into a cheap commercial walkbehind, forget about the rider they are nto worth the money unless you are talking about a ZTR but they are way too expensive, take a look at toro, hasquvarna, scag, ect. and also look into getting a sulky so you can ride it
    AK Lawn

4. Turf Technologies

Turf Technologies LawnSite Senior Member
    from Florida

I agree with everyone here. I know i say this a lot, but those ZTRs
    are too big for your small even medium lawns.Its hard to change directions on small lawns with a big mower like that.Which cause grooves and ruts. Get a WB with a velkie wheel to ride.Even consider Lesco brand.

5. 65hoss

65hoss LawnSite Fanatic

I own belt and hydro w/b's and a Z. I can manuver the z into places and turn around much easier that a w/b. Especially with a sulky behind it. Although, I am speaking from using the Lazer HP. It has a much smaller footprint, so a larger Z would be a little harder. The LHP is designed for this type of stuff. Length wise its the same as a 36" w/b.