1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Walkbehind Mowers - The standard

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Eng Mwr Guy, Jan 8, 2001.

1. Eng Mwr Guy

Eng Mwr Guy Gravely Manufacturer

Hello all

I am an engineer in the lawn & garden industry that is assigned to the walkbehind mowers.

My dilemma:
    I was hired to create a "new/revised" 2002 walk behind mower that will serve the commercial mower with excellence.

My question:
    What do you look for in a commerc. mower?
    Looking beyond brand loyalty what features are required for you to purchase a new mower?
    Who is the "best" in your opinion? More importantly...why?

Any advice would be appreciated. I want to engineer and produce the best equipment I possibly can.

Thank You

2. ronslawncare

ronslawncare LawnSite Senior Member

i know a lot of guys said on this forum complain about problems with the pistol grips hurting there wrist maybe you can design something like the toro with the t-bar .
  3. 65hoss

65hoss LawnSite Fanatic

high blade tip speed

better controls

great mulching ability

In my opinion, spend most of you engineering time working on spindles and bearings. Figure out a way to make them last longer. Some people get many hours out of theirs (ericelm) but other than the choppers, I don't know of many that will make it all that long.

Exmark is best so far. The first three are a given, but the spindles, well we will have to wait and see. Not enough hours yet to tell.
  4. Richard Martin

Richard Martin LawnSite Fanatic