walkbehind

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by touhey33, Aug 4, 2007.

1. touhey33

touhey33 LawnSite Senior Member

I think i am going to switch from zero turn to walkbehind next season, I am looking at getting a 52 inch hydro walkbehind with sulky. What are everyones opinions on the new ferris comfort control 19 or 25 hp, or the new toro hydro with t2 paddles. Also I have never used a sulky before, whats the best to get, and which ones fold up easily or disconnect in case I need to walk.
    Thanks

2. TandM

TandM LawnSite Senior Member
    from south

Why do you want to change applications?

3. grassmedics

grassmedics LawnSite Member

most people use the walk behinds: less weight means less ruts in the yard, ztr only has its advantages on straights where it can go faster than the walkbehind, can use a walkbehind after it rains, ztr will tear yard to shreds. thats just a few.

4. touhey33

I want a lighter mower thats more maneuverable, I also have more lawns under an acre then over an acre. It also seems to me that walkbehinds leave a better looking cut. The weight of a ztr plus your weight really makes the ground more compact. I figure I can cut just as fast, if not faster and leave a better cut. Also a Walkbehind from my experience with my 36" wb is easier to work on the my ztr.

5. cgaengineer

cgaengineer LawnSite Fanatic

The T2 is a well built machine and cuts really good. The controls take some getting used too, but in a few hours you will be doing fine. not sure how well the Ferris is built compared to T2, but the T2 is built like a tank...just go look at one for yourself...I think you will see for yourself.

6. MTR999

MTR999 LawnSite Member
    from Florida

How do gonna do 60+ accounts per week with WB? you tell me...no way.
    If there is way, you will be extremely exhausted ready to throw in towels.