1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Walker 26EFI fouling plugs, the front

Discussion in 'Mechanic and Repair' started by salemtiger, Sep 8, 2005.

1. salemtiger

salemtiger LawnSite Member

plug fouls somewhere between two to five hours of run time, it is always wet and most of the time has a carbon deposit across the spark gap, I throw in a new plug and continue to cut. The mower does not use oil, it has 452 hours of run time on the engin. Any ideas as to what the problem is?
    Thanks for your :help:
  2. MBDiagMan

MBDiagMan LawnSite Senior Member

The first thing to check is fuel pressure. I have no experience with this particular engine but I do know Electronic Fuel Injection and that would be the first thing to check. If fuel pressure is in spec, is there a way to draw trouble codes like there is on a car? I fully expect that there is.

Good luck,
    ASE Master
  3. Restrorob

Restrorob LawnSite Fanatic

I'm not sure on a walker but on Dixie Choppers there is a small red light along side the ignition switch. Turn the key on and off quickly three times and if there are any codes stored they will flash out on the light.
  4. Dirty Water

Dirty Water LawnSite Fanatic

Car mechanic here, take my words with a grain of salt.

Restrorob: Do these small EFI engines have a o2 sensor or do they run off a fuel table stored in the ECU...Or do they do both?

On a car engine, the sensors to check would be the Throttle Position Sensor, the Intake Air Temperature Sensor and the o2 sensor.
  5. lawnmaniac883

lawnmaniac883 LawnSite Silver Member

Relatively sure that there is a fuel map/table stored in the ecu. I am not positive on this, but I dont see why they would need anything aside from a basic fuel map on these mowers that usually only see one operating rpm?
  6. Brianslawn