Walker Diesel or 26 H.P. EFI

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by tglasslawncare, Nov 12, 2007.

1. tglasslawncare

tglasslawncare LawnSite Senior Member

Can anyone give me advice on which Walker mower is better for picking up leaves or mowing damp grass? The Diesel or 26 H.P. EFI. I bought a used diesel but was wondering if the 26 H.P. would have more suction power. I am new to Walker. Maybe there is no difference. I would appreciate any advice. Thanks

2. MikeLT1Z28

MikeLT1Z28 LawnSite Bronze Member

i'm told the rpms are lower on the diesel's so that would turn everything a little slower. they sold and still sell a lot of diesel's so if you are having suction trouble it could be a worn blower belt, a worn out blower fan or a hole somewhere not allowing decent suction. could also be the rpm's need to be adjusted.

3. gene gls

gene gls LawnSite Gold Member

Gas is better because higher engin RPM will spin blades faster.

4. Galashiels

Galashiels LawnSite Member

Everthing else being equal there will be no difference in diesel or gas.
    The engine, a kubota D722 is rated at 3600 RPM the same as the 26efi so that the blade speed and blower speed is the same in the two models.
    Check the blower for wear.
    The new 10.5" blowers make a huge difference picking up wet grass (as in raining) no trouble.
    The diesel is heavier than the gas so not quite so responsive on the turns.

5. gene gls

gene gls LawnSite Gold Member

What year did they change the RPM's on the diesel?

6. MOW ED

MOW ED LawnSite Fanatic

I never owned a Walker diesel but I do own a 26efi. As for doing leaves I would think the EFI is better because the diesel has a radiator that can get plugged with debris.