Walker Model B on hills?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Precision Lawns, Sep 7, 2006.

1. Precision Lawns

Precision Lawns LawnSite Senior Member

Does anyone have any expirience with this particular walker mower on hills? I want to hear about this specific mower please. I mow alot of hills right now with WB's and am looking for advice.
  2. Grits

Grits LawnSite Silver Member
    from Florida

Walkers are too s-l-o-w. It has been my experience that they are not fast enough and their quality of cut, especially on hills, has a lot that could be improved on. Save your money and buy a Bolens form Lowes. Same quality, just a better cut. Actually, I am just kidding...I have no experience with Walkers...or Bolens. I'm just bored and I have a buzz so I am typing random crap. Sorry. But you have to admit it is rather comical.
  3. Jason Rose

Jason Rose LawnSite Fanatic

For hills, well Walkers are not fast hill machines. Yes you can do them, but usually not gracefully. They will do up and down, but not angles, sometimes you can only go up by turing around and backing up the hill... Some guys swear that a walker with a 52" or larger deck are like a goat on hills. Iv'e only ran a 48" GHS and a 36" GHS. Neither of which are good on hills. Like I said, they will do them, but you have to take it slow and easy on the sticks. Once you loose traction you are boned.
  4. Envy Lawn Service

Envy Lawn Service LawnSite Fanatic

I don't think anyone here actually has the model B and I still remain 'floored' by that. I fell in love with the idea of this little mower the first time I saw it on the website.

But I have yet to understand 'why' you can't use the 52" deck with it and why they didn't build it so you could. I also don't understand why they don't offer some of the higher powered Vanguard engines on it also. I'm pretty sure all the way up to 23hp would fit.

Let me know what you find out about it and keep me informed if you buy one.