Walker vs Exmark

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by johnnyjay, Feb 9, 2001.

1. johnnyjay

johnnyjay LawnSite Member

Walker vs ExMark

I am planning on buying a new rider mower this spring. I am getting all the information I can between two mowers, Walker and ExMark. I have received replys from some Walker users already. To get more information I am asking the entire forum. I am located South of Atlanta, GA. Most residential yards are Bermuda Sod in Front and Fescue in the back yard. Also, leaves are left during Winter and dealt with in Spring Clean up.

I want to buy the mower that will make me the most money in return. I am a solo operator and therefore want to cut out as much weeding and trimming as possible.

What are your opinions on the right size mower, collection bagger size, engine size that will be most productive for aveage ½ acre yards. Most yards are not the upscale class. I have the Exmark 36” Metro HP WB with mulching kit. Last summer I mulched only. I am keeping this machine to sweat the small stuff.

Considerations are:
    Walker 42” GHS 10 Bu Hopper vs Exmark 44” Lazer Z HP with UltraVac Commercial Collection System 8 bushels.
    Walker 48” GHS 10 Bu Hopper vs Exmark 48” or 52 “ Lazer Z HP with Ultra Vac Commercial Collection System 8 bushels.
    With the Walker, would you recommend purchasing an optional mulcher or side discharge deck or deflector to blow out the back of the hopper.

Thanks for all opinions.

Johnny Jones
    Tel (770) 389-4531

BUSHMASTER LawnSite Senior Member

Walker or exmark......Two diffent units all together both would be nice.....i live below you in columbus and walker and exmarks have the brands going right know do a search on both mowers thier are a lot of threads....Ihave a walker and a DC. love them both but the walker would come first then the mid mount.if you have a lot of small to meduim resis..get as wide as you can fit on the yards...get a ghs&