walker vy z

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by rosolar, Nov 14, 2006.

1. rosolar

rosolar LawnSite Member
    from Mass

Right now I have a 62" z master. Mowing solo I average about $70/hr. My accounts are residental, but are mostly 3/4-1 acres. I would like to use a walker to increase my quality and eliminate clippings, my concern is that each lawn will take me a lot longer due to the slower speed and smaller deck.

I guess my question is how many of you mow 1acre+ lawns with walkers? Has anyone switched from a z to walker, or a walker to z?

I put a quick vac collections system on my z for cleanups, but the chute bouces around and you have to go slow, and the spindles are taking a beating. Most of the time I need to go over the lawn twice to get up the leaves.

2. tomo

tomo LawnSite Senior Member

hello, walker r way slower than a decent ztr and i am switching from walker to ztr 4 the larger jobs , although u r on the borderline .Walkers r rougher to ride if the ground is not flat [small drive tyres ] Remember all the collection decks r gear driven ,so hitting objects in the grass takes on a whole new meaning ,after repeated hits more severe damage usally results. I am retiring my walker to mainly green grass jobs of the domestic to very light commercial type. As the bagger machines typically have more engine issues [horizontal shaft ] than the vert shaft i would go the diesel way way more reliable.

tomo

ps think about when a walker sucks up choc bar wrappers onto air intake screen of motor and with out a oil temp guage this leads to very short eng life

3. MOW ED

MOW ED LawnSite Fanatic