Want fresh material?

Discussion in 'Irrigation' started by bblawncare, Feb 3, 2008.

1. bblawncare

bblawncare LawnSite Member

Hello everyone-I have introduced myself here before, but have been a very sporadic poster and mostly just a lurker. I have decided tho, that I would very much like to get into irrigation work. Right now I am a solo lawn maint operator have been for nearly 19 years. Two devastating thefts of my equipment in 06 has left me looking for different and more profitable work-but still related to my field.

I have done a lot of irrigation repairs for my customers-put in new pump (had electrician do wiring upgrade/work), taken out indexing valve and replaced with individual zone valves, added a zone to a system, replaced screens on intake lines going into canals, repaired valves, pipes, heads, etc. I have always been "afraid" to post here because so many times I see you guys say "let a pro do it", but I very much want to become a pro and the only way I know how is to actually get in there and do the work. But I also know that there can be a lot more to it than I realize, and I need to be able to ask questions. My irrigation shop is very helpful, but I want to utilize all the resources I can so I would like to be more active on here. (I can even contribute to the football banter because, besides my dogs, football is #1 here with me-2 TVs in living room going @ all times during the season)