1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Want to start fertilizing?

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by lasher66, Nov 5, 2005.

1. lasher66

lasher66 LawnSite Senior Member

I have been cutting grass for 7 years now and I am going to get my pesticide license this winter so I can start fertilizing. I am thinking of using Lebanon proscape fertilizer from a local dealer. What I am trying to do is decide how to price fertilizing. Most of the 10000 sq ft bags run about $24. So what would be a price for applying fertilizer at the 10k rate? Is there a cheaper fertilizer I should be using to stay competitive?
    Lebanons weed control is applied through the granules and killed at the root level after it is watered in. So would there be a reason that I would need a sprayer? The reason I point this out is because I noticed that Scotts plus 2 has to be applied to a wet or damp lawn to stick to the weeds. Obviously I will not be able to do that with every lawn. Sorry about all the questions but I just needed some input on this. Thanks for your time

2. Microbe

Microbe LawnSite Member

Good for you! Pricing all depends on what you pay kinda.. Me personally, I usually charge 40 per application on lawns that are less than 3000 sq ft. If you fertilize 10k defenatly triple your cost of the bag of fert... Thats first.... second see how long it takes you... If its relatively easy and quick.. then charge accordingly.. Some houses I charge 25 for fert.. Some houses I charge 15 bucks... All depends on the house and how large the lawn is... I have one lawn thats not even 1000 sq ft and I still charge 30 bucks... It all depends on your customer and how well you sell the service..