Want to start landscaping

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by ssroseberry, Jun 28, 2004.

1. ssroseberry

ssroseberry LawnSite Member

I am fasinated about landscaping. I would love to get a degree in landscape architecture. However I am a fulltime firefighter (my first love) so this prevents me from the normal college classes. Does any one have any suggestions on how I should approach a second career in landscaping? Are there any books I should read and which would you recommend?
  2. landproscapes

landproscapes LawnSite Member

Do yourself a favor and get the manual for woody landscape plants by Michael Dirr. It is the bible of the plant world.
  3. landproscapes

choose what you want to do and stick with it. If you want to install for a living, In my opinion I would not get into mowing. Concentrate on one core element of landscaping and than find quality subcontractors (i.e. Irrigation, Hydroseeding, Excavators, etc.) Get your contractors license and act as a general contractor.
  4. landproscapes

as a second job you could spread yourself to thin trying to do to many things yourself. That does not mean you cant offer everything. As long as you will be onsite for some of the work the homeowner wont even know its not your people performing the work. (ie for example if your building a retaining wall
    call a excavating company to prepare the footers as this is one of the most time consuming parts. Bring yourself and some temporary help to set the blocks. Another example. Get the contract to install landscape for building contractor. Call your Bobcat man to prep the yard. Your People put in the plants, mulch, drainage. Sod Farms in our area will install sod (let them do it ) Make money off other peoples time.
  5. ShadyTree

ShadyTree LawnSite Member