Want to start new lawn mowing business.

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by corypavin, Mar 30, 2004.

1. corypavin

corypavin LawnSite Member

I am a school teacher that has done many different jobs during the summer working for other people. I would like to start my own business and set my own hours during the summer months. How do I go about starting this business? I plan on mowing residential houses to begin with and work from there. Are there laws to starting your own business? What are some of the best ways to attract clientel? How much do I charge per lawn mowing? I would like to start as soon as possible as the lawn mowing season is now starting in Nevada. Help.....Thanks

2. Tvov

Tvov LawnSite Bronze Member
    from CT

Talk to an accountant in your area about what to do to start a small business.

What to charge per lawn? This can vary a lot from company to company. You have to figure out your own "overhead", including costs of buying equipment, fuel, insurance, etc. Then on top of that in theory you are supposed to make a profit. These are numbers you have to figure out using your own situation.

Use the search feature on this site, and you will spend days reading threads!

3. lawnranger44

lawnranger44 LawnSite Senior Member

I just posted this on another thread about pricing...

First consider how much you want to be making per hour...When I first started out my brother and I shot for $15 an hour each(that was a mistake), and we have now risen it to $40 an hour each. I would shoot for $30-$60 an hour if I were you. It may seem high but after deductions...it's not.
    Then try to judge how long the job will take. If you have absolutely no idea, try to give the customer a ballpark figure (for example, $50-$70) and ask if you can do the job once to figure how long it will take you, exactly.