WARNING: Manage your bookkeeping guys!!!

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by JimLewis, Feb 10, 2005.

1. JimLewis

JimLewis LawnSite Fanatic

I wanted to post this because I know that most of my friends who own small businesses (lawn care or other contractors) are usually not so great at bookkeeping. I relate. Hey, if we were all had great accounting skills we probably wouldn't be mowing lawns! But that doesn't mean we shouldn't learn. It's been a long process for me and I am still learning. But I am brutally reminded today of just HOW important this is.

We are going through a tax audit for year 2001. The good news is that I had half-way decent records in 2001. Thank God I didn't get audited for an earlier year, where my bookkeeping was seriously lacking. But the bad news is that in 2001, my bookkeeping wasn't quite good enough. I made some mistakes in record keeping and in filing taxes (In my infinite wisdom, I thought I would just go ahead and file our $300,000 tax return all on my own using Turbo Tax). Well, some of these mistakes are what CAUSED the audit. Certain expenses didn't get recorded in the right area, certain expenses were taken the wrong way, and actually, as a result of the audit, I have found several thousand dollars of receipts that I DIDN'T claim. All of this was stupid stuff that a CPA would have caught.

Fortunately, so far, the audit is going well. The auditor I am working with is fair and is working with me on some creative ways to fix my mistakes. But I am lucky. Not all auditors are this nice.

If you haven't already done so; Get with a very good CPA. Get with a good bookkeeper. And learn Quickbooks (or whatever you use) in and out. Learn how to do everything the right way. And don't file your own taxes, no matter how smart you think you are. That's my advice.....

2. Mark McC

Mark McC LawnSite Bronze Member