WB lines???

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by AuburnGuy, Jul 9, 2003.

1. AuburnGuy

AuburnGuy LawnSite Senior Member

This is my first year in the biz. I need advice on lines. I have a Toro 36' WB. I can make straight lines, but the problem is turning around. Everything is fine when I can make turns in a driveway or street and just come back in the yard and continue with the next line, but if i'm next to the house or a flowerbed and i need to turn, its always obvious by the way the grass is cut i'm doing a 180' turn, where as using a 21' mower you can just tilt it up and turn around. Am I doing something wrong or is that just something you deal with with a walk behind?

2. GeorgiaGrassMan

GeorgiaGrassMan LawnSite Member

Your doing Bermudagrass? If so, I wouldn't worry about it too much. Do what's most productive.

3. BSDeality

BSDeality LawnSite Silver Member

it takes a little practice to get it down to a (almost) true zero turn. i run a border around most lawns to cover up my turns.

4. ElephantNest

ElephantNest LawnSite Bronze Member
    from La.

When turning, always make BOTH back wheels roll. If turning left, make sure left tire is rolling backwards while you're spinning the right tires around. Takes some practice, but you won't leave divots once you get the hang of it. Also, as stated, make your passes and then do one or two laps around outside perimeter to hide turn marks and any missed grass.

5. FrankenScagMachines

FrankenScagMachines LawnSite Platinum Member
    from IN