We are all Lawn Nerds...

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by HOOLIE, Jul 11, 2004.

1. HOOLIE

HOOLIE LawnSite Gold Member

What is it that possesses us, after a long week of cutting grass, to sit up late on a Sat. nite and talk about cutting grass?

For me, its the anticipation of reading some humorous thread...that and the fact that I can drink beer while reading that thread...

2. wayupnorth

wayupnorth LawnSite Member

Hey Hoolie, I sit here half gooned up myself after a couple glasses of the nector of the Gods, with I might add my wife waiting for me downstairs for well you know what, and here I am looking for a post on what is better, a Ferris diesel or a Kubuta diesel, or a JD gas 777!! I am not a professional lawn care person but I found this forum some time ago and find it fascinating to read all that everyone has to say about cutting grass. We have a small resort in northern Wisconsin and I mow about ten acres with a Honda 5518 tractor with a 52 inch deck. There is a beauty and dignity in lawn work that I can only say puts you in a satisfied state of mind when you are all done. I`m starting to ramble but I will say I have made some of my best business decisions while I have been mowing on the Honda. Have a great night!!! Wayupnorth.

3. HOOLIE

HOOLIE LawnSite Gold Member

Can't help ya with the choice of mowers- but at least YOUR wife is waiting up for you!

4. SouthernFried

SouthernFried LawnSite Senior Member

Well, I just found this forum...and it's been somewhat motivating for me.

Been doing this for 20 yrs. Seen my share of ups and downs. I gotta admit, I've been getting kinda burned out. Not sure if it's the work itself, or just old age creeping on...but, I've not been too motivated lately. After one of the worst business decision I ever made a coupla yrs back...I have not really cared as much.