Wear that eye protection

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by lawnfire, Apr 9, 2002.

1. lawnfire

lawnfire LawnSite Member

While using my string trimmer, a piece of debris flew up and hit my eye, dead center of the cornea. It blurred my vision slightly, so I went to the doc two days later, and was told I lacerated my cornea. To make a long story short, I now have scar tissue on this cornea, and my 20/20 vision is gone. I have been a full time firefighter for 13 years, and lco for four years. Never once did I think I would injure my eyes. Well, it happened to me. please wear those safety glasses.:blob2:

2. SIG

SIG LawnSite Member

As a firefighter you should have known better, A very hard lesson learned. I hope everything with your eyes is O.K. I will not let a guy work with my equipment without glasses while trimming and ear protection at all times. Personally I think you should wear glasses while mowing, tree branches can do some serious damage. Good Luck and Be Careful!!

P.S. I am not tring to be mean, I hate to hear about preventable injuries happening.

3. yardman1

yardman1 LawnSite Senior Member

lawnfire,

I had the same thing happen to me about two years ago, the rock was about the size of a golf ball hidden under some tall grass. I had no permanate damage, but it hurt like hell for about three days, it also gave me a nice big ol black eye. I do not even pick up a trimmer now without my saftey glasses on. It was lesson learned the hard way.

Kevin
    Williams Lawn Mgmt :cry:

4. Esby

Esby LawnSite Senior Member

I don't know of many that would. Safety glasses aren't expensive, you just need to get in the habit of ALWAYS wearing them.

5. TOSLC

TOSLC LawnSite Member

Kinda as a side note, we wear Smith & Wesson safety glasses. I found them at Wal-Mart in the sporting goods section. I think there about $6, there comfortable and stylish. They have clear, amber, and smoke so there is no reason not to wear them all the time (sunlight or dark).