1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Website Newbie, Want to be

Discussion in 'Digital Marketing' started by Natural Impressions, May 18, 2009.

1. Natural Impressions

Natural Impressions LawnSite Member

I have been putting off getting a web site for a few years now.

What are the pros and cons about it?
    What is the averagecost of a website and how much increase in clients has anyone had??

I'm just curious because I don't the $1000's of dollars like I think it could cost for 2 more clients.
    I guess I just need someone to sell me on the idea. Thanks
  2. Inspira

Inspira LawnSite Member

I'll get the con out of the way first - if you want it done right and have it look professional, it's expensive. You'll get people telling you that you can do it yourself - use Yahoo's sitebuilder or Optimum Online's homespace thing, and it will be fine - and that may very well be the case. But I've had many clients come to me after trying that, unhappy with their results - and at that point, they've invested their time, which we all know can be very expensive in itself.

I just had this exact conversation with a client in the container business a few months ago. He spent around $200 per month on an ad in the NJ yellow pages. That ad was 1/8 page, black and white. Pretty much just his logo and a phone number. Seen by potentially thousands, though.

A website is a full-color, enriched experience seen potentially by MILLIONS. Full description of your services, image slideshow, contact form, etc. And once that initial setup is done, the ongoing maintenance is negligible. I can set up my clients so they're able to update their sites themselves without screwing up the design - or if they do need me, it's not expensive to have me update now and then.