Wedelia problem in St augustine.

Discussion in 'Florida Lawn Care Forum' started by elitecuts, Mar 14, 2012.

1. elitecuts

elitecuts LawnSite Member
    from wpb fl

Got a client that had a small problem with wedelia about a year ago, I'm new to the full service aspect of landscaping and now want to offer a great product to my clients. The wedelia has gone crazy..... he has a sprinkler system which isnt helping but need some feedback of products to eliminate wedelia. Hoping i don't have to do it manually but If i have to so be it...

2. RedRobin

RedRobin LawnSite Member

Mix Manor and Dismiss - it will smoke the Wedelia

3. jvanvliet

jvanvliet LawnSite Gold Member

4. elitecuts

from wpb fl

Thanks jvanvlite..... I started to research taking the class for it at the Mounts, but took the master landscaper course instead, so that is my next step. As for the web-site, i looked at the earlier and I saw that gylphosate works, but I only have super concentrate RU. if there is another product that has another gylphosate in a lower dose I'd love to know it. I do most of my shopping at the Lesco/John deere dealership so any specific product is appreciated. Also wanted to make sure that all i need to do is take the day long course, take a state test and then I'm certified to apply herbicide?

5. Ric

Ric LawnSite Fanatic

I hate to correct the U of F but I have found Wedelia to be Resistant to Roundup, 3 way Herbicide, and a whole list of selective herbicides . Fact is I use Roundup as a Over the top Select Herbicide on Wedelia. Yes it is considered invasive plant but I use it as a shady loving ground cover in utility areas.

BTW I find Basagram does a nice job of controlling it.

Elitecuts

In order to legally Treat Residential turf in Florida you need a Commercial Lawn & Ornamental License. I Qualified with a College Degree in Horticulture and 1 year working under a CPO. Other Qualify by working under a CPO for 3 years.