Weed / Grass ID ?

Discussion in 'Turf Renovation' started by bdoss123, Sep 1, 2006.

1. bdoss123

bdoss123 LawnSite Member

Can anyone shed some light on what this is? Looks like a wide bladed fescue (K-31?), but I'm no pro.

grasspic1.jpg

grasspic2.jpg

2. bntt68

bntt68 LawnSite Senior Member

Looks like young crabgrass to me.

3. Runner

Runner LawnSite Fanatic

It's crabgrass.

4. bdoss123

bdoss123 LawnSite Member

Great... if I'm going to aerate/slice-seed should I just hit it with roundup? This is at my house, so I can take whatever means are necessary.

- BD

5. Prolawnservice

Prolawnservice LawnSite Senior Member

yes, round up should work fine.:)

6. SodKing

SodKing LawnSite Bronze Member

Thats that wide bladed fescue like oats kinda thing....theres a nickname for it....can't think....oh yeah here it is.....

Crabgrass.

7. bdoss123

bdoss123 LawnSite Member

Thanks for the quick help. Finally it's dry enough to get some work done.

bd

8. socty

socty LawnSite Member

After you use the Roundup, make sure you wait long enough to let the herbicide work its way through the ground...may take a week after the crabgrass dies, maye even longer...check the label or your dealer.

9. Runner

Runner LawnSite Fanatic