Weekly Or Bi-weekly?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by leaf man, Feb 24, 2008.

1. leaf man

leaf man LawnSite Member

Hey guys,
    im just starting out in this business and i bought a client list from a guy with 75 accounts,and 25 of the accounts are bi-weekly. I really want to be a weekly only service....should i get rid of the bi-weekly people,and try to grow the weekly clientele,or is it worth sticking with the bi weekly group and hope they morph into weekly contracts?
    thanx a lot for the feedback!

2. topsites

topsites LawnSite Fanatic

I think you better hang on to every last one of them, goddamn lol you better do a good job, too.

3. leaf man

leaf man LawnSite Member

i have a lot of experience,just never owned my own business...but what happens if i get more weekly clients and i cant handle the load,then i have to dump people,which isnt fun....isnt it better not to start with them then to possibly have to dump them?

4. barefeetny

barefeetny LawnSite Senior Member

find 25 more bi weeklys and then scheduling isn't an issue

i don't have anymore bi weeklys... don't listen to me

5. Edge08

Edge08 LawnSite Member

I would phase out the bi-weeklys by raising prices on them. They need to pay for the inconvenience you will have. Have a personal conversation with them so they understand why you need to charge more for bi-weekly service, and at the same time show them the value they will get by going to weekly service.

In my market I find that bi-weekly customers do not give any long-term value in the form of referrals and upsells. So they should not be in your long-term plans.

6. lawn dogg

lawn dogg LawnSite Member