1. Green Boys LawnCare

Green Boys LawnCare LawnSite Member

This may be a little off topic, but has anyone else had this problem. I'm fairly new to lawn treatments. I do a lot more mowing. Because of all the rain and how busy I am in the spring, I end up doing my lawn treatments when it's wet out and I can't mow. Being out in the wet grass all day my feet got really soaked, pruned up, and even got blisters because I kept going. Anyone aware of any socks, type of shoes that may help? Thanks

2. barefootlawnsandlandscape

barefootlawnsandlandscape LawnSite Senior Member

Try some muck boots, or other rubber boots. That is what I wear when I am applying. I also wear some water proof pants that I got from the local golf store.

3. HazellLawnCare

HazellLawnCare LawnSite Senior Member

The rubber boots are the way to go when you are spraying lawns. When I am just on a wet lawn though I have a pair of Nike tennis shoes that have been applied with gortex. I think they are actually hiking shoes but they are waterproof and comfortable.

4. ant

ant LawnSite Silver Member

5. RAlmaroad

RAlmaroad LawnSite Silver Member
    from SC

Go to one of the marine stores (West Marine/Boater's World) and buy some storm boots (Yellow). There're not too expensive but real comfortable. A pair of foul weather pants and you'll be set. Skip the yellow hat and slicker unless you want to be seen as the Gorton's Fisherman guy. I've used one pair of boots for seven years now.

6. RAlmaroad

RAlmaroad LawnSite Silver Member
    from SC

Ant: I've seen those and they'd be great for fertlizer etc, but your feet would stilll get wet and contaminated by pesticides. Boot may be better.

7. indyturf

indyturf LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Indy

You should always wear rubber boots when your doing chemical applications!

8. Runner

Runner LawnSite Fanatic