What 2" fittings are available?

Discussion in 'Irrigation' started by jcom, Jul 26, 2006.

1. jcom

jcom LawnSite Senior Member

Our customer is insisting that we use 2" mainline pipe for his property. We will be using a 3 h.p. pump and will zone for about 50 gpm.

I have no experience with 2" pipe or fittings. I will need to install valves to the laterals. I would like to use 1" laterals. What fittings can I use off the valve to get to three 1" laterals per zone?

Thanks for the help.

John:clapping:

2. Wet_Boots

Wet_Boots LawnSite Fanatic

2 inch is proper for that flow, so you aren't being burdened with an unreasonable request. Unless you have pressure to burn, 1 inch is too small for a 17 gpm lateral. You can use 1 1/2 inch zone valves. With poly pipe, you might run three 1 1/4 laterals.

3. Bigred350

Bigred350 LawnSite Senior Member

There are the same anount fittings for 2" as there are 1".

4. Midlo Snow Maker

Midlo Snow Maker LawnSite Member

OMG are you serious

5. jcom

jcom LawnSite Senior Member

Ok WB, how does that work?

Three 1 1/4 laterals through a 1 1/2 valve?

As long as I am showing my ignorance, here is another.

We limit our PGP rotors to 35' or so on our regular installs. With all this water available and a lot of ground to cover, what kind of decent distance coverage could I get with say a 5 or 6 gpm nozzle. Or in simpler terms, what has been everyones experience with covering large areas with Hunter rotors, nozzles, coverage patterns, etc. ???

This first large pipe job is going to be a huge learning experience.

Thanks to all the irrigation gurus. WB, you have helped me bunches in the past so I am continuing to learn from your knowledge. As well as all the others.

John:confused:

6. PurpHaze

PurpHaze LawnSite Fanatic