What 21 " mower do you guys use

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by dogdad, Nov 12, 2001.

1. dogdad

dogdad LawnSite Member

I have been using the Honda 216 hydro mower for several years, but seem to be dissatisfied with my latest one (about 1 1/2 years old) . I really enjoy the hydro transmission, but the mower seems to be not like the earlier models. I also have a Gravely Pro 50 Hydro walk behind and a new Hustler Z also. What do you guys and gals use out there or what do you recomend for a 21' self propelled mower that bags and mulches. Thanks for any opinions

2. stslawncare

stslawncare LawnSite Bronze Member
    from DE

for starters do a search! to answer ur question i have a 22" craftsman mower self propelled, high wheel, mulcher/bagger. its about 3 years old, has gone through a lot, and all i have had done was a tuneup this past month and one oil change prior. thats not counting the blade maintenance. has a really good cut, easy to use, starts first pull, btw its a 6.5 hp. got it for $350.

3. BOTURF

BOTURF LawnSite Senior Member

ihave 3 ariens right now and getting ready to buy a honda commercial 21 in cut

4. Scraper

Scraper LawnSite Bronze Member

Scottie...chill out dude.

Dogdad...I have been using the same MTD for the past 6 years. Only sees gated pools. I don't see the sense in paying a lot of money for a piece of equipment that isn't going to be utilized that often.

5. longslawn

longslawn LawnSite Member

John Deere commerical 21". Have 2 and both are excellent mowers. A little pricey though.

6. AltaLawnCare

AltaLawnCare LawnSite Senior Member

I'm not gonna play Lawn Site Cop!!!:D

I bought a used LawnBoy 4.5 two stroke. It suits me great for no more than I use it.
    ;)

7. kutnkru

kutnkru LawnSite Silver Member

Sensation 21" with the metal mesh catcher. 3.5hp briggs that screams all day long when the others out there wont work at all. ;)

Kris

8. stslawncare

stslawncare LawnSite Bronze Member
    from DE