What a day - injury

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by FIRESCOOBY, Oct 7, 2007.

1. FIRESCOOBY

FIRESCOOBY LawnSite Senior Member

Well, my nightmare of being a solo operator became a reality this morning.

I'm a career firefighter and we were on an apartment fire. We were taking up after the fire and wasn't paying as much attention as I should have and fell backwards (ground level). Being that there were many co-workers around I did my best to not completely bust me a**. In doing that I planted my left foot too well and felt/heard a POP. I would have been much better off just falling and taking the verbal abuse that would have surely come.

Anyway, it looks as though I've got an orange on the outside of my left ankle and can't put any weight on my left foot unless I am REALLY careful. I've got a walking cast from an identical injury to my right ankle 5 years ago. Wearing that gives me a little more support. I went to workers comp doc this morning, and I've gotta try to get into an ortho tomorrow.

Anyway, I've emailed my customers and explained my situation and told them I will still be completing all services as promised...maybe just a little slower. I've got several mowings, aerations, over seedings, and ferts scheduled for this week. It's gonna be a slow and painful week...but one way or the other I'll get it done. The main part I am worried about is the areas that are steep when trimming or using the walk behind...these areas may be delayed.

Oh well...life goes on. I'm lucky that this is my only injury. It can always be worse.

Sorry...just venting.

2. ExclusiveLawnCare

ExclusiveLawnCare LawnSite Senior Member

Sorry to hear that, and hey just take it slow and easy and everything will be alright.

3. Supper Grassy

Supper Grassy LawnSite Bronze Member

Sorry to hear that!
    Hope you get better soon.