What about these tires?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by ToroLandscaper, Feb 13, 2006.

1. ToroLandscaper

ToroLandscaper LawnSite Bronze Member

I have a 52" Toro Zmaster and the tires on it ARE NOT cuttin it...they are killing me they slide down hills and the traction just SUCKS...so my question is do you think these tires http://www.tiresunlimited.com/images/carlisle_specialty/tru_power.jpg would be just entirely TOO agressive or do you think they would be ok?

I do some large slopes but then agian i do some delicate smaller yards...do you think i could get by with these tires if i was careful?

ANY ADVICE IS NEEDED AND APPRECIATED

2. Rev. Crabgrass

Rev. Crabgrass LawnSite Member

That is a pretty agressive tread. But if you look at Dixie Choppers factory tires on their riders it is simalar. See what some of the Dixie Owners say about their results. I myself would be careful on your delicate yards with that tire.

REV.

3. K&L Landscaping

K&L Landscaping LawnSite Senior Member

Not even close to being like the tires on Dixie Choppers. The tires you are looking at will utterly destroy a lawn, especially if it is the least bit wet. If you were mowing pasteur's they would be fine but not for lawns.

4. ToroLandscaper

What tires come on Dixie Choppers?

Keep the comments coming!

5. Envy Lawn Service

Envy Lawn Service LawnSite Fanatic

Well, you will find you will have VERY mixed reviews on any tire you ask about.

However, I can tell you right up front... that specific tire is a very stiff tire and a very hard rubber compound. I can also hook you up with another member with a 52" Toro that put almost that exact tire on his machine. His are the Carslile Super Lugs, which is probably what you would have to step up to in order to get the right size. Basically the same tire.

They make a MUCH SOFTER tire in that style called the AT101.
    I'm considering them also, but I'm getting mixed reviews.