1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

What classifies as a commercial zero turn?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Steve's Mow & Trim, Feb 1, 2007.

1. Steve's Mow & Trim

Steve's Mow & Trim LawnSite Member

Ok I have been running a lawn care service in my town for the last 2 years, I am 18 and a freshmen in college. My first 2 years I mowed about 10 lawns and made around 2400 a month gross. I just had 5000 flyers made and plan on upping my accounts to about 35-40. I have been using my 2003 John Deere L-110 (reg rider with 17.5hp kohler). The bulk of my lawns are regular walk behind and no rider, I think out of my pervious 10 I had 4 that I used my rider on. I mow an 8 acre church where they provide the mower (woods mowin machine zero turn 18hp). Now the question is what makes a riding mower a commercial riding mower? The Woods mower is a commercial mower and it has a 18hp, but my tractor is not and it has a 17.5hp engine. What should I consider when looking for a good zero turn? I am looking to sell my john deere and buy a zero turn. I have seen a 22hp kawasaki Cub Cadet witha 50 inch deck. To me this seems like plenty of HP, what do you guys think? I don't really wan't to go all out and spend 5-7grand. This mower is $3,000 and it says its rated for 2-3+ acres. Just need some info
  2. LushGreenLawn

LushGreenLawn LawnSite Silver Member

The cub cadet is very far from a commercial machine. Engine HP is the last thing I would look at. That mower is rated for a couple of acres a week, twentysomething times per year. Definatly not for everyday mowing.

The deck is very thin, and will wear through. Also, the pumps that make the wheels turn are very light duty, and will wear out quickly. Thinks like pulleys, hose connections, ect are not very strong.