1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

What did you do before starting an LCO?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by echeandia, Feb 5, 2007.

1. echeandia

echeandia LawnSite Bronze Member

I have read many posts here where the poster claims so many years experience. So, I was wondering what are the jobs that everyone left to start their own LCO. Myself, I spent the over 15 years developing software eventually ending up in management before finally getting laid off. It was one of the best days of my life. :cool2: Now I was free to do as I pleased.

What is your story?
  2. ProMo

ProMo LawnSite Bronze Member

I worked with a few different lco's for about 10 years on my own for 15 years so I guess I have 25 years of experience
  3. Prestige-Lawncare

Prestige-Lawncare LawnSite Senior Member

Thirty-one years in the Transportation industry ... working with 75 union drivers. I'm done ... D-O-N-E ... with dealing with unions.
  4. martinfan06

martinfan06 LawnSite Senior Member

Right out of high school worked for a large LCO in my area with in 6 months I was running my own crew of 3 guys mowing high end properties in tampa area. 6 months later changed over to landscape foreman ran that crew for another year,left because of pay 8.00$ an hr as a foreman yeah:dizzy:. Went into warehousing and distribution also always doing lawns or landscaping on the side off and on. Still in warehousing now foreman of my warehouse,here in lakeland,now starting to get back into part-time,and hopefully full-time biz soon.
  5. LawnTamer

LawnTamer LawnSite Gold Member