What do I do with the leaves?????

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by jmq, Oct 5, 2006.

1. jmq

jmq LawnSite Member

This is my first year in business and I was wondering what you do before all the leaves fall, but there are so many that they make the cut look horrible!!! I have been using my bagger, but this is very time consuming. Does anyone have any other suggestions????:dizzy:

2. wski4fun

wski4fun LawnSite Senior Member

You can blow them in a pile and pick them up in a tarp and throw them into the back of the truck. Blow them into the woods if that is an option. Blow them into the beds and wait until they are all down, then pick them up. Make sure to cut the lawns shorter then normal before there are too many. Better for the lawn and easier to blow the leaves.

3. J&R Landscaping

J&R Landscaping LawnSite Fanatic

I will usually run the mower over them and shred them to reduce the volume as much as possible. Then I will bag the remaining leaves up either with the mower and grass gobbler or with my billy goat.

If you have a lot of leaves to get rid of, you might see if any local farms, nurseies, or dealers have dump areas. I know 1 of the dealers round me has a dump area but I use the farm that I get my mulch and plants from.

4. jcb287

jcb287 LawnSite Member

J&R has the right idea,I dump all of my leaves and grass clippings at a guys house close to mine that owns and operates a tree nursery.After going thru the deck of my Lazer and Cyclone Rake and then my leaf loader they are mulched up very well.He uses them for mulch around his saplings.If you can find a nursery in your area,they may take them.:)

5. sweatyclippingcoveredguy

sweatyclippingcoveredguy LawnSite Member