WHat do i do???

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by touhey33, Apr 29, 2004.

1. touhey33

touhey33 LawnSite Senior Member

I am just starting out, and need to get a commercial mower, but i am undecided whether to get a walk behind or a zero turn. If i go with a zero turn, then it will have to be small, as i am only going to do residential areas, I was looking at the Hustler Mini Z, but i don't know if it will fit in gated areas, is there anything else i should be looking at, I really need help if anyone has any opinions please let me know.

Tim's Lawn Care Service:confused:

:confused:

2. youngdude

youngdude LawnSite Member

If you are just starting out with only small residential lawns you should buy either a 36 or a 48 inch. No need to spend all that money and not make it back untill the end of the year. And for a wb i highly suggest Bobcat.

3. Pecker

Pecker LawnSite Bronze Member

If I were in your position, starting out and doing just residentials, if you only can budget for one nice mower, I'd go for a 32" hydro WB. It will guarantee to access to all backyards, although it will be less than most productive on the larger properties ( but you;ll have one mower that can do it all and will eliminate a 21"). Then you can get a 60" ZTR to increase efficiency later on. BTW, that describes my setup (except my WB is belt), which I feel is perfect (for my needs). But whatever you get, buy the best and buy it once (i.e. hydro WB vs. belt), because it will be with you for a long, long time.

4. Acute Cut

Acute Cut LawnSite Senior Member

Absolutely right on the button ******. I could not agree with you more heartedly! I wish i would have had that EXACT advice when i started out. I would have saved alot of money over the years. IMO there is no better advice touhey33. I would take that and run with it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

5. Acute Cut

LMAO!!!!!!!!!!! It blurbed out P..Ker's name when i wrote it. Too funny! Listen to the guy that posted right above my first post.