What do I need to go legal in MI?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by dmbmikee, Jun 7, 2004.

1. dmbmikee

dmbmikee LawnSite Member

Hey Guys and Girls!

I have been doing odd landscaping jobs, for the past 8 years, ranging from planting to some paver brick work . Well, I just hooked up with a very seasoned brick layer. I put out some flyers and the work is coming in BIG time. Anyhow, I have not been paying taxes on my odd jobs for the past 8 years, b/c I was making well under $1,000 for the whole summer. I have held another job as a medical technologist to support myself. Now, I'm going to go part-time with the medical stuff, and kick this landscaping thing into overdrive. I don't know what I need so that I can pay taxes, be licensed (if it's required), and get this biz going, LEGALLY. I'm worried that I'm gonna miss some important requirements. I know each state has different req's, but anyone know what Michigan requires? Any advice, info, or help will be very much appreciated. If there's another thread out there, just provide the link and I'll do the reading. Thanks a whole bunch. Ya'll are great!

Mike

2. dmbmikee

dmbmikee LawnSite Member

Maybe I should not go legal.....?

3. Grassmechanic

Grassmechanic LawnSite Silver Member

Get an accountant and a lawyer, they'll help you immensly.

4. dmbmikee

dmbmikee LawnSite Member

I was thinking about getting a CPA. Actually, I am going to get a CPA.....but a lwayer, may be too expensive for me right now, eh?

5. CuttersCove

CuttersCove LawnSite Member

Mikee,

Invest in an hour for both. That's probably $200 total. Write up a list of questions for each (the accountant and lawyer) about what you need to know and then go ask.