1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

What do u do with old equipment?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by pjslawncare/landscap, May 1, 2005.

1. pjslawncare/landscap

pjslawncare/landscap LawnSite Bronze Member

I have a lot of equipment and I pritty much run it into the ground. Im a good mechanic so I patch, weld and repair it till it eventually becomes cheaper to replace it. Then it goes to the "equipment Graveyard" located behind the pole barn where I am often found sifting thru the pile for a cable or pull start or shaft or, well u get the idea. It helps to be brand loyal of coarse. I have many Scag mowers, Shin trimmers & blowers (cant stand Echo any more after their carbs went south) Snapper push mowers, ect.
    What do u do with your old stuff? sell it before it gets too old or run it till it cant run no more. Then what?
  2. Lawn-Scapes

Lawn-Scapes LawnSite Silver Member

I try to replace things before they start to deteriorate. While I think I'm pretty handy and can fix most things.. I'd rather not spend my time repairing them. I like having fresh & dependable equipment.
  3. Branchland

Branchland LawnSite Senior Member

Sell 'em at yard sales. Get a few bucks.
  4. nobagger

nobagger LawnSite Gold Member
    from Pa

Lawn Scapes-DIDO! why wait until they are junk? Unless financialy you can't swing it. Trading them in might only get you a small % towards your new purchase but it's better than nothing. :waving:

RICHIE K LawnSite Senior Member

6. lawnandplow42

lawnandplow42 LawnSite Senior Member

its easier to sell them while they still have some life so you aren't stuck with them.