What do you experienced contractors do in the winter & fall?

Discussion in 'Turf Renovation' started by AdamCByrd, Jul 24, 2005.

1. AdamCByrd

AdamCByrd LawnSite Member

I am just getting started in full-time lawn and landscape maintenance. I have over 30 commercial maintenance accounts (50/50 residential / commercial) that require weeding, blowing, trimming, and pruning 12 months a year. However, these jobs aren't enough to pay my bills in the fall and winter after I stop mowing.

Can ya'll please give me some ideas of services to provide in the fall and winter so that I can stay busy?

For example, would any of you recommend me investing in a leaf / debris collection system and remove leaves in the fall? Is there any money in that? Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance

2. olderthandirt

olderthandirt LawnSite Platinum Member
    from here

Don't take this the wrong way but we are a service that only needed so many months out of the yr. espescially in the north. Its a sellers market in the spring and fall and I will raise my prices during those peak times and do extra work knowing that winter is coming and I'll be taking a few months off. Also we have the option of plowing but I hate that and try to avoid it as much as possable. So my advise is work more in the summer and enjoy the winters

3. AdamCByrd

AdamCByrd LawnSite Member

I know you didn't ask, but just for your reading pleasure, here's what I've got so far (but it isn't enough)

I'll be painting boundary lines in the woods for a large land management company in Mississippi. This might make me $2K this winter.

I am getting into the cattle business with my dad and will have some regular farm work. We pay ourselves $10/hr.

I already mentione in my original post about my commercial / residential landscape maintenance jobs, but they only keep me busy about 8 working days a month.